The Happiness Project – Day 4

Entry for Day 4 of The Happiness Project

3 things I’m grateful for:

  1. I have a job that doesn’t require me to work on weekends.
  2. I was able to scale back my involvement in a club with no questions asked…and I don’t have to go to the weekly meeting tomorrow night!
  3. I have a job to go to tomorrow.

One positive experience from today:

Thanks to online shopping, I was able to purchase extremely diverse gifts for two birthdays (for people at different ends of the east coast) and a graduation party…all of which are happening in 5 days.

AND I was approved for an Overstock credit card! With a $1,000 credit line! I’ve been working hard to clean up my debt over the last 3 years and I’m slowly starting to rebuild my credit. I haven’t been approved for anything over a $250 limit in about 7 years. ::pats back::

Exercise journal:

Nope.

Paying it forward:

One of my closest friends lost her job last week. 😦 She’s been in surprisingly good spirits about it – she sees it as the “push” she needed to do something she loves – but I think it started to sink in for her today.

She loves to read and she’s going to have some free time during her “week off” before she starts up the job hunt. So I bought and shipped her the book 1,000+ Little Things Happy, Successful People Do Differently by Marc and Angel Chernoff. (If you haven’t read their stuff yet, stop what you’re doing and head over there right now. You’ll thank me later.)

Hopefully the surprise will make her smile. And hopefully the beautiful words in that book will help her to keep looking forward to the next chapter of her life.

Amount of time spent in prayer/meditation:

30 minutes right before I fell asleep.

Personal reflection:

I felt real lonely today. As I try to think of people in my life I could carry out these spontaneous and random acts of kindness for, I’m a little sad that I really only have like two friends I’m close with. I guess it could be worse.

Leave a Comment

