The Happiness Project – Day 2

Entry for Day 2 of The Happiness Project

3 things I’m grateful for:

  1. I’m in a financial position where I can afford to buy a dozen baked goods and make someone’s day (see below). Also, I thought to myself again today – I’ll never be rich. Regardless of how much money I make, I will always remember that there are other people who need it more than I do.
  2. I’m still appreciated and valued at work…even though I’ve been slacking lately. This is huge. I started slacking at every other job because I didn’t feel appreciated or valued. I should really appreciate it back and get my act together.
  3. I live in a safe neighborhood that doesn’t make me think twice about taking my garbage out at 1:30 AM.

One positive experience from today:

I’m going to partner with this girl in my area to start a professional networking group. I’m so excited about it and I feel like this will help me meet some quality people. We had our first call today and made a lot of progress.

Exercise journal:

Awful again. About 7 out of 10 times today, I took the stairs instead of the elevator at work. (That count?)

Paying it forward:

The other day, I was driving to work and I couldn’t avoid driving over a plastic tarp rolling around on the highway. It ended up getting melted onto my undercarriage and I couldn’t pull it off without lifting the car and sliding under it.

Frantically, I drove it into an auto repair shop close by and asked if they could help me. Within minutes, they lifted my car and took care of it. The guys were so nice to me and, when I asked how much I owed them, they told me, “Don’t worry about it. It was a pleasure meeting you.”

Two days later, I decided to bring them a dozen cupcakes from a fancy bakery. The guy working the counter wasn’t the same guy who helped me the other night. So I explained that the guy who helped me was just so nice to me and I wanted to find a way to pay it forward. Honestly, I don’t he heard any of what I said anyway because, the entire time, he had an ear-to-ear smile on and he had locked eyes with the cupcakes.

All in all, I was reminded of how great it feels to unexpectedly do something nice for someone.

Amount of time spent in prayer/meditation:

30 minutes right before I fell asleep.

Personal reflection:

It felt really good to pay it forward today. It’s so easy to make someone’s day in a big way…sometimes with very little effort, time, and money.

Leave a Comment

