The Happiness Project – Day 1

Well. Today was very insightful.

It’s funny how, unless you’re prompted to do something or challenge your way of thinking, you can very easily narrow your view of the world. Maybe this is why it’s so important to constantly challenge ourselves to step outside of our comfort zones. So that we can expand our field of vision, bump into other people along the way, and make connections we wouldn’t normally have made.

In starting this project, I was prompted to think about my current level of overall happiness. On a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the happiest, my current level of happiness with my life is a 7. A 7. I’m probably happier now than I have been in years. But still, I know it could be a 10. 2014-08-23 03.23.09

Then, I was prompted to break my life down into distinct areas and assess my level of happiness with my life in each of those areas. Here’s how my chart turned out. I could use a bit more balance.

Side note: This whole project reminds me of The Magic. The entire book is centered around the idea that the more grateful you are for what you have, the more you’ll have in life to be grateful for.

Here’s my entry for Day 1 of The Happiness Project.

3 things I’m grateful for:

  1. I have a job that has flexible hours (I was especially thankful for this when I came in kinda late for work this morning).
  2. I had enough money to pay my professional association’s annual membership fee today ($185 this year!).
  3. My friend took the time to put this whole project together for us. It’s going to be a great 21 days.

One positive experience from today:

I got started on THP and it prompted my friend and I to have a dialogue that we actually hadn’t had before. My positive experience is that I had an awesome, intellectually stimulating conversation with my friend tonight.

Exercise journal:

I did a lap around the parking lot during one of my smoke breaks this afternoon.

Omg. This is awful. In fairness, I didn’t start this until the evening. No, nevermind. That wouldn’t have made a difference. Oh well. At least I can say I have nowhere to go but up.

Paying it forward:

I didn’t have a chance to do this one tonight. Excited about starting tomorrow though!

Amount of time spent in prayer/meditation:

I passed out and fell asleep before I could meditate tonight. 😦

Personal reflection:

I’ve been feeling out of balance lately. I need to put things in perspective, take the time to give to others, and appreciate what I have (and stop worrying about what I’m missing).

Leave a Comment

