Gallery

100 New Experiences – #68 Buy A New Car

For years, I’ve been struggling with bad credit and bad luck with cars. A repo, a couple beaters, an old convertible that rained inside when it rained outside…I’ve had a string of crappy cars.

Now, let me just say…when I made this list, I was in NO position to buy a new car…let alone a nice one. That didn’t stop a girl from dreaming though.

On New Years’ Day this year, I spent some me time thinking about the way I wanted my life to be. And then I decided to make a vision book. It’s kind of like a vision board, except it’s easier to store and less of an eyesore.
1501815_10153697293660455_1472587054_nThroughout the year, I’ve checked in on it as often as I think of it. I take a few minutes to flip through the pages and sort of meditate on these big goals I had set for myself. For a lot of them, I had no idea how I was going to achieve these goals but I dreamed the dream anyway.

One of those goals was to buy a new car. A black Infiniti coupe. It had been a dream car of mine for some time and I was dead set on it being my next car.

visionbookinfiniti

When I made the goal, I had just left a job I hated that didn’t pay me well. A couple months later, I was fortunate enough to have started a job at an awesome company, getting paid 20% more than my previous salary and feeling really valued. Since then (seven months later), I’ve received two raises, a promotion, and a spot at the Executive table.

Somehow…I was in a position where I could afford my dream car. So, after much deliberation and working out my finances, I took the plunge and bought my Infiniti Q60 (aka the Love of My Life).

Some people may view this one as materialistic. I’ll be honest, there’s some truth in that. But, aside from the aesthetic value, my car means something deeper to me.

It makes me actually enjoy my 30-45 minute scary highway commute. It makes me feel like I’ve kind of made it to a certain milestone in my life – the one where I have a stable job and get paid what I’m worth. And it reminds me that it’s okay to splurge on myself once in a while. After all, if I don’t, who will? #singleforever

Check out my progress and see the full list for my 100 New Experiences Project. 

Leave a Comment

